Tag Archives: Olmstead

Community Living – Resources for Participating in Your Community

June 22nd marks the 21st anniversary of the Supreme Court decision known as Olmstead v. L.C., where the Court determined that the institutional isolation of people with disabilities was unjustified and is a form of unlawful discrimination under the Americans … Continue reading

Posted in Right Resources Right Now | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

La llamada sobre Discapacidades de Agosto de la Casa Blanca

A las 14:00 EST del 24 de agosto de 2012, la llamada de la Casa Blanca sobre las Discapacidades ocurrió. La llamada fue dirigida por Kareem Dale, Asistente Especial del Presidente sobre la Política de Discapacidad y los altavoces de … Continue reading

Posted in Event | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

12 Years after the Olmstead Decision, Olmstead Champion Lois Curtis Meets the President

On Monday, June 20th Olmstead champion Lois Curtis visited with President Obama in the Oval Office marking the 12th anniversary of the landmark U.S. Supreme Court discussion in the Olmstead v. L.C. case in 1999.  The Olmstead decision helped to … Continue reading

Posted in Article, Legislation, Publications | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Just Added to the NIDRR Calendar of Events! PAS Webinar on April 7th featuring presenter Renee Wohlenhaus

On April 7th, 2011 the PAS will host a webinar where presenter Renee Wohlenhaus discussing “The Department of Justice and Olmstead:  Current cases and decisions.”  The 60-minute webinar will begin at 2.00pm Eastern; 1:00pm Central; 12:00pm Mountain; 11:00am Pacific; 10:00am … Continue reading

Posted in Event | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Live it: Federal initiatives in response to Olmstead

The White House and the Departments of Housing and Urban Development and Health and Human Services today issued statements in recognition of the 10th anniversary of Olmstead and announced new programs or initiatives in response. President Barack Obama declared 2009 … Continue reading

Posted in Grant/scholarship opportunity, Project | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

NARIC Spotlight: What is “Olmstead” and how does it affect me?

Today, June 22, is the 10th anniversary of the Olmstead decision, a landmark civil rights case decided by the Supreme Court. The court decided in favor of the plaintiffs, two women with psychiatric and developmental disabilities, that inappropriate institutionalization was … Continue reading

Posted in digital archive, Event, Publications | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment